Success Story Finnova & VSHN

Finnova, a leading Swiss provider of banking software and services with around 450 specialists, uses the APPUiO Managed OpenShift container platform from VSHN.

This innovative solution enables Finnova to provide its customers with SaaS services on a stable, scalable platform at attractive prices. Finnova can thus offer an ‚all-round care-free package‘ for the operation of all of its digitalisation applications, regardless of whether they originate from Finnova or third-party companies.

VSHN is responsible for the operation and scaling of the APPUiO Managed OpenShift container platform. The front-office applications of the Finnova Banking Software, including the Advisor Workbench, the portal solution and the new Loan Advisory application are operated on it.


Daniel Bernasconi

CTO and Member of the Executive Board of Finnova

Question 1: Hello Daniel, Can you briefly explain to us what Finnova does and what your role and area of responsibility involve?

Finnova has around 100 customers from the retail, universal and private banking sector in Switzerland and in the Principality of Liechtenstein. We support them in being sustainably profitable and competitive. In the context of further digitalisation in banking and open banking, and in view of the resulting pressure on business models, this is absolutely key. Finnova stands for innovative banking solutions – in development, in operation and in advisory. Together with our customers and partners, we therefore focus on core banking, digital transformation and open banking. A consistent process orientation and the modular architecture of the Finnova Banking Software enable a flexible adaptation and integration of the business functionalities required by banks, their clients and BPO providers today.

In my role as CTO, I run the Technology Competence Center, which is responsible for the continuous further development of the technical architecture of our products and solutions, and determines the technologies required for their implementation.

Question 2: What challenges have you faced in relation to your applications and the infrastructure of the OpenShift platform?

In the area of our new digitalisation applications, we have opted for the OpenShift operating platform, which we also use for our own ’software as a service‘ offers. Providing such a scalable OpenShift platform promptly ourselves would have meant substantial pre-investment and time for building a corresponding team. That is why we looked around for a competent partner some time ago.

Question 3: How did you become aware of VSHN and APPUiO?

Through the company Puzzle, with which we were already in contact regarding OpenShift.

Question 4: Why did you opt for a container platform and in particular for OpenShift?

The container platform offers us the mechanisms we need for flexible deployment of our digitalisation applications. We also hope for operational scaling effects that would not be possible with a traditional platform in an increasingly heterogeneous environment The OpenShift product offers us the enterprise-grade security we require for both our applications and our clients.

Question 5: What prompted you to purchase OpenShift as a managed service?

For us, it has proved to be the most effective, efficient and secure way of not establishing this service in-house. This way, we can focus entirely on our core competence – application management – in the Managed platform service.

Question 6: What have we achieved together so far and how are we currently supporting you?

Thanks to VSHN, we can offer our customers SaaS services on a stable, scalable platform at attractive prices. Migrations to the current status of OpenShift are guaranteed. Finnova can thus offer an ‚all-round care-free package‘ for the operation of its entire digitalisation applications, regardless of whether they originate from Finnova or third-party companies. The latter is possible due to the entire Finnova Open Platform, which includes components such as the Finnova Integration Layer, Finnova Single Sign-On and the orchestration layer, being operated on OpenShift.

Question 7: What works well, and where can we improve?

Our cooperative partnership on an equal footing with the motivated and competent VSHN employees works well, which ultimately leads to a solution for any problem. It would be exciting – in particular with the OCP – to be able to obtain more additional services in terms of operators as well as managed services.

Question 8: Why or for what would you recommend us?

I would recommend VSHN to all who would like to have a ‚platform as a service‘ model that is not restricted to a single infrastructure provider. Those looking for a reliable Swiss partner who is also prepared to talk about individual requirements are also well served.

Question 9: Do you want to give us an insight into the future with regard to operating and platform developments?

In my view, the further digitalisation of the client interface and the requirements of banks to differentiate themselves here will encourage the development of open platforms on which different providers‘ solutions can be combined. Increasing cost pressure and the fact that solutions have an ever shorter life cycle play into the hands of ‚as a service‘ models. Combining the various dimensions of standardised products, open platform solutions, traditional on-site operating models and ’software as a service‘ offers is certainly a key challenge. The issues involved are so wide-ranging that they cannot be resolved single-handedly, but rather only in cooperation with the right partners.

Thank you very much for the interview and your time, Daniel. We are very pleased to count Finnova among our customers.

The interview was conducted by Markus Speth, Co-CEO of VSHN.

About Finnova

Since 1974, Finnova has stood for innovative banking solutions – in development, in operation and in advisory. Together with our customers and partners, we focus on digital transformation and open banking, thus supporting our around 100 customers from the financial services sector in Switzerland and in the Principality of Liechtenstein in being sustainably profitable and competitive.

About VSHN – The DevOps Company

VSHN (pronounced vɪʒn like ‚vision‘) is Switzerland’s leading partner for DevOps, Docker, Kubernetes, OpenShift and 24/7 cloud operations. VSHN was founded with the intention to fundamentally shake up the hosting market. As a lean startup, we have focused on operating IT platforms through automation, agility and a continuous improvement process. Completely location-independent and without own hardware, we operate extensive applications according to the DevOps principle agile and 24/7 on every infrastructure, so that software developers can concentrate on their business and IT operations are relieved.

About APPUiO – Swiss Container Platform

APPUiO is the largest Swiss container platform for the design, development and operation of applications. Based on proven Open Source concepts such as Docker and Kubernetes, APPUiO enables DevOps: through automation and self-service, development, deployment and operational processes are accelerated and the collaboration between software developers and business organisation is improved. Learn more at www.appuio.ch

Facts

  • 1
    Finnova, a leading Swiss provider of banking software and services with around 450 specialists, uses the APPUiO Managed OpenShift container platform from VSHN.
  • 2
    APPUiO enables Finnova to provide its customers with SaaS services on a stable, scalable platform at attractive prices.
  • 3
    With APPUiO, Finnova can offer an 'all-round care-free package' for the operation of all of its digitalisation applications, regardless of whether they originate from Finnova or third-party companies.

Contact us

Our team of experts is available for you. In case of emergency also 24/7.

Contact us

Success Story Finnova & VSHN

Finnova, führende Schweizer Anbieterin von Bankensoftware und -Services mit rund 450 Fachspezialistinnen und -spezialisten, nutzt die APPUiO Managed OpenShift Container Platform von VSHN.

Die innovative Lösung ermöglicht es Finnova, ihren Kundinnen und Kunden SaaS-Leistungen auf einer stabilen, skalierbaren Plattform zu attraktiven Preisen bereitzustellen. So kann Finnova ein «Rundum-sorglos-Paket» für den Betrieb ihrer gesamten Digitalisierungsapplikationen anbieten, unabhängig davon, ob sie von Finnova oder von Drittfirmen stammen.

VSHN ist für den Betrieb und die Skalierung der APPUiO Managed OpenShift Container Platform verantwortlich. Darauf werden die Frontapplikationen der Finnova Banking Software betrieben, u. a. die Advisor Workbench, die Portallösung und die neue Loan Advisory.


Daniel Bernasconi

CTO und Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung von Finnova

Frage 1: Hallo Daniel. Kannst du uns kurz erläutern, was Finnova macht, und was deine Rolle und dein Verantwortungsgebiet beinhalten?

Finnova hat rund 100 Kundinnen und Kunden aus dem Retail-, Universal- und Privatbankenbereich in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein. Diese unterstützt sie darin, nachhaltig profitabel und wettbewerbsfähig zu sein. Im Kontext der weiteren Digitalisierung im Banking und im Open Banking sowie angesichts des daraus entstehenden Drucks auf die Geschäftsmodelle ist dies absolut zentral. Finnova steht für innovative Banking-Lösungen – in der Entwicklung, im Betrieb und in der Beratung. Gemeinsam mit unseren Kundinnen und Kunden sowie Partnerinnen und Partnern setzen wir den Schwerpunkt deshalb auf das Core Banking, die digitale Transformation und Open Banking. Eine konsequente Prozessorientierung und die modulare Architektur der Finnova Banking Software ermöglichen eine flexible Adaption und Integration der Geschäftsfunktionalitäten, die heute von Banken, ihren Kundinnen und Kunden sowie BPO-Providern gefordert werden.

In meiner Rolle als CTO führe ich das Technology Competence Center. Dieses ist für die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung der technischen Architektur unserer Produkte und Lösungen verantwortlich und bestimmt die für ihre Umsetzung erforderlichen Technologien.

Frage 2: Welche Herausforderungen gab es in Bezug auf eure Applikationen und die Infrastruktur der OpenShift-Plattform?

Im Bereich unserer neuen Digitalisierungsapplikationen haben wir uns für die Betriebsplattform OpenShift entschieden, die wir auch für unsere eigenen «Software as a Service»-Angebote nutzen. Eine solche skalierbare OpenShift-Plattform zeitnah selbst bereitzustellen, hätte substanzielle Vorinvestitionen und Zeit für den Aufbau eines entsprechenden Teams bedeutet. Daher haben wir uns vor einiger Zeit nach einem kompetenten Partner umgeschaut.

Frage 3: Wie seid ihr auf VSHN und APPUiO aufmerksam geworden?

Durch die Firma Puzzle, mit welcher wir bezüglich OpenShift bereits in Kontakt standen.

Frage 4: Warum habt ihr euch für eine Container-Plattform und im Speziellen für OpenShift entschieden?

Die Container-Plattform bietet uns die Mechanismen, die wir für ein flexibles Deployment unserer Digitalisierungsapplikationen benötigen. Zudem erhoffen wir uns betriebliche Skalierungseffekte, die wir in einem immer heterogener werdenden Umfeld mit einer klassischen Plattform nicht erzielen könnten. Das Produkt OpenShift bietet uns die Enterprise-Grade Security, die wir für unsere Applikationen sowie für die Kundinnen und Kunden benötigen.

Frage 5: Was hat euch dazu bewogen, OpenShift als Managed Service zu beziehen?

Für uns hat es sich als der effektivste, effizienteste und sicherste Weg erwiesen, diese Leistung nicht inhouse aufzubauen. So können wir uns beim Managed Platform Service voll und ganz auf unsere Kernkompetenz, das Application Management, fokussieren.

Frage 6: Was haben wir bisher zusammen erreicht, und wie unterstützen wir euch aktuell?

Dank VSHN können wir unseren Kundinnen und Kunden SaaS-Leistungen auf einer stabilen, skalierbaren Plattform zu attraktiven Preisen anbieten. Die Migrationen auf den jeweils aktuellen Stand von OpenShift sind gewährleistet. Somit kann Finnova ihren Kundinnen und Kunden ein «Rundum-sorglos-Paket» für den Betrieb ihrer gesamten Digitalisierungsapplikationen anbieten, unabhängig davon, ob sie von Finnova oder von Drittfirmen stammen. Letzteres ist möglich, weil die gesamte Finnova Open Platform, die auch Komponenten wie den Finnova Integration Layer, das Finnova Single Sign-On und den Orchestrationslayer beinhaltet, auf OpenShift betrieben wird.

Frage 7: Was funktioniert gut, und wo können wir uns verbessern?

Gut funktioniert die partnerschaftliche Zusammenarbeit auf Augenhöhe mit den motivierten und kompetenten VSHN-Mitarbeitenden, die letztlich bei jedem Problem zu einer Lösung führt. Spannend wäre es – gerade mit der OCP 4 –, mehr Zusatz-Services im Sinne von Operators ebenfalls als Managed Services beziehen zu können.

Frage 8: Warum oder wofür würdest du uns empfehlen?

Ich würde VSHN allen empfehlen, welche ein «Platform as a Service»-Modell möchten, das nicht auf einen einzigen Infrastruktur-Provider beschränkt ist. Gut bedient sind auch diejenigen, welche einen verlässlichen Schweizer Partner suchen, der auch bereit ist, über individuelle Anforderungen zu sprechen.

Frage 9: Willst du uns noch einen Ausblick in die Zukunft geben hinsichtlich Betriebs- und Plattformentwicklungen?

Die weitere Digitalisierung der Kundenschnittstelle und die Anforderungen der Banken, sich hier zu differenzieren, werden aus meiner Sicht die Entwicklung offener Plattformen fördern, auf welchen Lösungen unterschiedlicher Lieferanten kombiniert werden können. Dabei spielen der steigende Kostendruck und der Umstand, dass Lösungen einen immer kürzeren Lebenszyklus haben, «as a Service»-Modellen in die Hände. Diese verschiedenen Dimensionen von standardisierten Produkten, offenen Plattformlösungen, traditionellen On-Site-Betriebsmodellen und «Software as a Service»-Angeboten unter einen Hut zu bringen, ist sicher eine zentrale Herausforderung. Die damit zusammenhängenden Fragestellungen sind so breit, dass sie nicht im Alleingang, sondern nur in Zusammenarbeit mit den richtigen Partnerinnen und Partnern gelöst werden können.

Herzlichen Dank für das Interview und deine Zeit, Daniel. Wir freuen uns sehr darüber, Finnova zu unseren Kunden zählen zu dürfen.

Das Interview wurde geführt von Markus Speth, Co-CEO von VSHN.

Über Finnova

Seit 1974 steht Finnova für innovative Banking-Lösungen – in der Entwicklung, im Betrieb und in der Beratung. Gemeinsam mit unseren Kundinnen und Kunden sowie Partnerinnen und Partnern setzen wir den Schwerpunkt auf die digitale Transformation und Open Banking. So unterstützen wir unsere rund 100 Kundinnen und Kunden aus dem Finanzdienstleistungsbereich in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein, nachhaltig profitabel und wettbewerbsfähig zu sein.

Über VSHN – The DevOps Company

VSHN (ausgesprochen ˈvɪʒn wie «vision») ist der führende Schweizer Partner für DevOps, Docker, Kubernetes, OpenShift und 24/7 Cloud Operations. VSHN wurde mit der Absicht gegründet, den Hostingmarkt grundlegend aufzumischen. Als Lean Start-up haben wir uns durch Automatisierung, Agilität und einen kontinuierlichen Verbesserungsprozess auf den Betrieb von IT-Plattformen konzentriert. Völlig standortunabhängig und ohne eigene Hardware betreiben wir umfangreiche Applikationen nach dem DevOps-Prinzip agil und 24/7 auf jeder Infrastruktur, damit sich Software-Entwicklerinnen und -Entwickler auf ihr Business konzentrieren können und der IT-Betrieb entlastet wird.

Über APPUiO – Swiss Container Platform

Über APPUiO – Swiss Container Platform APPUiO ist die grösste Schweizer Container-Plattform für das Design, die Entwicklung und den Betrieb von Applikationen. Auf Basis bewährter Open-Source-Konzepte wie Docker und Kubernetes ermöglicht APPUiO DevOps: Durch Automatisierung und Self-Service werden Entwicklung, Deployment und Betriebsprozesse beschleunigt und die Zusammenarbeit von Software-Entwicklerinnen und -Entwicklern und Betriebsorganisation verbessert. Erfahre mehr auf www.appuio.ch

Facts

  • 1
    Finnova, führende Schweizer Anbieterin von Bankensoftware und -Services mit rund 450 Fachspezialistinnen und -spezialisten, nutzt die APPUiO Managed OpenShift Container Platform von VSHN.
  • 2
    APPUiO ermöglicht es Finnova, ihren Kundinnen und Kunden SaaS-Leistungen auf einer stabilen, skalierbaren Plattform zu attraktiven Preisen bereitzustellen.
  • 3
    Mit APPUiO kann Finnova ein «Rundum-sorglos-Paket» für den Betrieb ihrer gesamten Digitalisierungsapplikationen anbieten, unabhängig davon, ob sie von Finnova oder von Drittfirmen stammen.

Kontaktiere uns

Unser Expertenteam steht für dich bereit. Im Notfall auch 24/7.

Kontakt